

Official TAFF Press Release 21 January 2020

2020 Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund Delegate Announced

We, the administrators of the 2020 TAFF race, are pleased to announce that Michael Lowrey will be the 2020 TAFF Delegate.

He will attend Concentric: Eastercon 2020 to be held in Birmingham, UK on April 10–13, 2020 (see their website at www.concentric2020.uk), and he plans to travel to Swecon (the Swedish national convention), continental Europe, and maybe Ireland before arriving in the UK.



From *TAFFish* #1, here is some biographical information about "Orange Mike":

"I stumbled onto the early-1970s version of the U. of Chicago SF club (there have been several over the eons) through the SCA in 1971, and thus learned about fandom. When I returned to Tennessee, I joined the good ol', much-maligned N3F, which for this country boy was a lifeline to the broader world of fandom, including my first exposure to fanzines. When I got to Nashville, I discovered the local SCA and through them the Nashville SF club. Through the SCA I discovered D&D (thanx, Daishi-san!) and through the Nashville club I learned that there were SF cons I could go to! That first con (it was a Midwestcon) was a glorious revelation: this was my tribe, these were my people!

I've been to well over a couple of hundred cons since then, and my opinion has not changed. It was in those Nashville years that I fell into the habit of wearing head-to-toe orange."

Following his return home, Mike will become the next North American administrator of TAFF, and will conduct the 2021 TAFF race in association with Johan Anglemark, who has to suffer through yet another year of adminship. Fans throughout Europe who may be interested in standing for TAFF in 2021 should make a point of talking with Mike and Johan at Swecon, Eastercon, or elsewhere on Mike's trip, if at all possible, to begin the process of becoming involved in one of the best experiences a fan can have. The 2021 TAFF race will be westbound, going to Discon III, the 79th Worldcon. And do not forget to attend the Fan Fund auction at Eastercon where you will find a wealth of fannish and sf-ish loot from across time and space. All proceeds benefit the fan funds. For more information about the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund – past, present, and future – please visit David Langford's excellent TAFF website at www.taff.org.uk.

Here is the breakdown of the voting results by first preference. As you can see, Mike won by simple majority in the first round of counting.

RESULTS

Candidate	NA+RoW	Europe	Total
Michael Lowrey	56	27	83
Ann Totusek	3	2	5
Hold Over Funds	4	0	4
No Preference	6	5	11
Total votes	69	34	103

We wish to thank Mike and Ann for a fun TAFF campaign, and hope that Ann stands again in the future. Our most sincere thanks to all who voted in, contributed to, or otherwise supported the 2020 TAFF campaign. See you in Birmingham!

The fund received \$866.55, £232.05, and €176.14 in donations (before deducting Paypal fees).

Geri Sullivan, North American TAFF Administrator Johan Anglemark, European TAFF Administrator

List of voters

North America

Dave Axler, Karen Babich, Allen Baum, Tracy Benton, John D. Berry, Bill Bodden, Sue Burke, Bill Burns, Darrah Chavey, Rich Coad, Teresa Cochran, Eli Cohen, Catherine Crockett, Brenda Dupont, Nic Farey, Doug Faunt, Katherine Finegan, Don Fitch, Deb Geisler, Chris Gerrib, Mike Glyer, Jeanne Gomoll, Gay Haldeman, Felicia Herman, John Hertz, Ckay Hinchliffe, Colin Hinz, Arthur Hlavaty, Marilyn Holt, Andy Hooper, Jim Hudson, Lenore Jean Jones, Jerry Kaufman, Carol Kennedy, Michael Kennedy, Fred Lerner, Robert Lichtman, Kafryn Lieder, Michael Lowrey, Diane Martin, Rich McAllister, Jacqueline Monahan, Murray Moore, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Teresa Nielsen Hayden, Curt Phillips, Andrew Porter, John Purcell, Valerie Purcell, Julia Richards, Gregory Rihn, Carrie Root, Alan Rosenthal, Nigel Rowe, Ruth Sachter, Georgie L. Schnobrich, Joe Siclari, Steven H Silver, Jon Singer, Edie Stern, Geri Sullivan, Matthew Tepper, Suzanne Tompkins, R-Laurraine Tutihasi, Donya Hazard White, Ben Yalow, and Joel Zakem.

Europe

Johan Anglemark, Linnéa Anglemark, Bellis, Sandra Bond, Claire Brialey, Patrik Centerwall, Tomas Cronholm, Andreas Davour, Hisham El-Far, Marie Engfors, Tommy Ferguson, Alison Freebairn, Carolina Gómez Lagerlöf, Jukka Halme, Constanze Hofmann, John-Henri Holmberg, Roy Kettle, Marcin Kłak, Ian Maughan, Vanessa May, Jim Mowatt, Caroline Mullan, Henrick Pålsson, Arwel Parry, Mihaela Perkovic, Mark Plummer, Thomas Recktenwald, Alison Scott, Roger Sjölander, Douglas Spencer, Jesper Stage, Stephen Swartz, Lennart Uhlin, and Jan van't Ent.

Rest of the World

Janice Gelb and Jo Van Ekeren.

These kind people made a monetary donation without voting:

James Bacon, DC, Steve Glover, Nina Horvath, David Langford, Nick Smith, and Ian Watson.